of Canada), is governed by five specific Articles of the Boundary Waters Treaty of 1909. The Commission's approval is required for any use, obstruction or diversion of boundary waters affecting the natural level or flow of boundary waters in the other country; and for any works in waters flowing from boundary waters or below the boundary in rivers flowing across the boundary which raise the natural level of waters on the other side of the boundary.

Problems arising along the common frontier are also referred to the Commission by either country for examination and report, such report to contain appropriate conclusions and recommendations. In addition questions or matters of difference between the two countries may be referred to the Commission for deci-

sion, provided both countries consent.

The Commission has been given responsibilities under the Canada—United States Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement of April 15, 1972 to assist in the implementation of the Agreement by co-ordinating the various programs referred to therein and monitoring their effectiveness.

The Commission reports to the Secretary of State for External Affairs of Canada and to the Secretary

of State of the United States.

Interprovincial Boundary Commission. The Manitoba-Saskatchewan Interprovincial Boundary Commission, consisting of a commissioner from each province and the Surveyor General of Canada, is the only commission concerned with boundaries between provinces. However, there are also boundary commissions responsible for the borders between the following provinces and territories: Manitoba and the Northwest Territories; Saskatchewan and the Northwest Territories; Alberta and the Northwest Territories; and British Columbia, the Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories. All report to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources.

Law Reform Commission of Canada. The Law Reform Commission of Canada was established (RSC 1970, c.23, 1st Supp.) as a permanent body to study and keep the statutes and other laws of Canada under continuing and systematic review and in this way to complement the legislative and judicial processes. The work of the Commission is carried out with a view to making recommendations for their improvement, modernization and reform, including, without limiting the generality of the foregoing: the removal of anachronisms and anomalies in the law; the reflection in and by the law of the distinctive concepts and institutions of the common law and civil law legal systems in Canada, and the reconciliation of differences and discrepancies in the expression and application of the law arising out of differences in those concepts and institutions; the elimination of obsolete laws; and the development of new approaches to and new concepts of the law in keeping with and responsive to the changing needs of modern Canadian society and of individual members of that society. The Law Reform Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Justice.

Library of Parliament. The Library of Parliament as such was established in 1871 (SC 1871, c.21) although it existed earlier. It currently functions under RSC 1970, c.L-7. The Library of Parliament keeps all books, maps and other articles that are in the joint possession of the Senate and the House of Commons. The Parliamentary Librarian is also responsible for the Parliamentary Reading Room. Persons entitled to borrow books from the Library of Parliament are the Governor General, members of the Privy Council, members of the Senate and the House of Commons, officers of the two Houses, judges of the Supreme Court of Canada and the Federal Court of Canada, and members of the Press Gallery. In addition, books are lent to other libraries and government agencies and reference service is given to scholars. A special research branch serves parliamentarians only. The Parliamentary Librarian has the rank of a Deputy Head of a department and is responsible for the control and management of the Library under the Speaker of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Commons assisted by a joint committee appointed by the two Houses.

Machinery and Equipment Advisory Board. The Machinery and Equipment Advisory Board, established in 1968, is responsible for considering applications for remission of duty on machinery and equipment classifiable under Tariff Items 42700-1 and/or 41100-1 and for advising the Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce as to the eligibility of such machinery for remissions according to the provisions of these two tariff items. The Board is composed of a chairman and the Deputy Ministers of Industry, Trade and Commerce, Finance and National Revenue. It is assisted by the branches of the Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce concerned with individual industries, including machinery manufacturing. The objective of the Machinery Program, which is administered by the Board, is to increase efficiency throughout Canadian industry by enabling machinery users to acquire advanced equipment at the lowest possible cost while at the same time affording Canadian machinery producers tariff protection on what they manufacture.

Medical Research Council. Established in 1969 and operating under authority of RSC 1970, c.M-9, the Council is a departmental Crown corporation of the federal government. It is composed of a president, a vice-president, and 20 members. The primary aim of the Council is the support and development of research in the health sciences in Canadian universities and affiliated institutions. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of National Health and Welfare.